Fintoism ECB Central bank Digital Currencies European Central Bank Swift Euro Country

Can you only pay with euros in a euro country?

The euro is the official currency of 19 of the 28 members of the European Union. The other nine EU countries do not use the euro: Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic and Denmark use their own currencies (the lev and krone), while Poland uses złotych and Romania lei. As such, you can pay with other currencies, depending on the euro country. 

Payment for goods and services in euros is mainly mandatory.

You can certainly pay with euros in a euro country. A eurozone country is a member of the European Union that has adopted the euro as its sole official currency and is part of the wider European Union (EU).

The 19 countries that use the common currency are: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Spain.

The use of non-euro coins and banknotes differs depending on the euro country

The use of non-euro banknotes and coins is governed by the law of the eurozone country concerned. In all eurozone countries, euro banknotes and coins are legal tender. However, in many eurozone countries, you can use non-euro banknotes and coins, which are also legal tender in that country.

For example:

  • If you want to pay for something with a 10 Swiss franc note in Switzerland, this note is also legal tender there (as well as being legal tender in Liechtenstein).
  • Suppose you want to pay for something with an Austrian 100 Schilling coin or a German 1 Deutsche Mark coin in Austria or Germany, respectively. In that case, it won’t be possible because they’re not legal tender there (although they may still be accepted as payment if offered in the euro country.)

In all countries, euro banknotes can be exchanged without charge at banks and exchange offices

In all countries, euro banknotes can be exchanged without charge at banks and exchange offices, while you cannot return euro coins to the European Central Bank.

You will not find a Eurozone country where only euros are accepted as payment. Some of them have their own currency, but it is fixed to the value of one euro or, more often, several euros. So if you want to pay with cash in a euro country, it would have to be in that local currency rather than just euros. 

Many shops will accept other currencies

  • You can pay with other currencies
  • You can use your credit or debit card
  • You can use other payment methods

Certain policies have to be made regarding foreign currencies.

You can use the euro to buy anything in any country that uses the currency. The euro is considered a strong currency, meaning it’s valuable and can be used across Europe. It’s also one of the most traded currencies in the world.

Currency policies regarding foreign currencies vary from euro country to euro country. Each nation may have its own concerns about how much they want its money to be worth compared with other nations’ money.

For example, suppose you live in France (a euro country). In that case, your government might have set up policies that prevent other countries’ currencies—like US dollars or British pounds—from being used within France without special permission from French authorities.


The euro is the official currency of 19 EU member states, and its strength is ensured because no one else can print it. Moreover, the adoption of the euro by so many countries has made it an attractive investment choice for investors worldwide.